Can love blossom after life changes in an instant? 

GOODBYE, ORCHID is one of the most anticipated 2020 fall reads: Buzzfeed l Parade l Travel+Leisure and featured in Glamour, Popsugar, Bookstr, Frolic, LA Times, Chicago Tribune and more.

Winner: 2020 American Fiction Award l Pinnacle Achievement Award l IAN Best First Novel 50-80K words l two Royal Dragonfly Awards l two Best Book Finalist Awards l New York Book Festival Honorable Mention l Audiobook Reviewer New Author of the Year l long-listed for Chanticleer International Chatelaine Book Award l one of The Write Review’s Top 2020 Books

“Page-turner” “Breath of awe” “Tugs on your soul”

What happens when an entrepreneur suffers an accident that changes him forever and he has to decide: to love his woman, will he need to leave her?

One July morning in Manhattan, handsome athlete and entrepreneur Phoenix Walker accompanies his love, half-Asian beauty Orchid Paige, to the airport. Neither believes today is goodbye.

But soon after Orchid leaves, disaster strikes.

Phoenix wakes in the hospital, broken, forever changed.

Now, he’s faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean having to say Goodbye, Orchid?

Rising from ashes is hard. Leaving the one you love is harder.
“A tale of sacrifice and rebirth; heroism is in the details.”

—SSGT Aaron Michael Grant, author of TAKING BAGHDAD: Victory in Iraq With the US Marines

For fans of Me Before You and Fault in Our Stars, Goodbye, Orchid asks…

“What choice does a wounded hero have when loving his woman means breaking his own heart?”

Order your copy of Goodbye, Orchid and immerse yourself in this beautiful love story. Available in Kindle, paperback and hardcover.

GOODBYE, ORCHID

PUBLICITY CONTACT:

Crystal Patriarche
BookSparks
crystal@BookSparksPR.com
(480) 650-1688

PUBLISHER:

Koehler Books
John@KoehlerBooks.com

A richly detailed story of star-crossed lovers…all told with unforgettable heart and insight.

—Caroline Leavitt, New York Times Bestselling author of Pictures of You, Cruel Beautiful World and With or Without You 

An expertly crafted novel that will tug not just on your heart strings, but on your soul.

—Karin Tanabe, author of A Hundred Suns 

Goodbye Orchid is a beautiful book, full of deep, thoughtful truths as well as hard-won wisdom for its protagonists. Their individualized and honest perspectives make the journeys as surprising as they are engaging.

—Chris Kipiniak, actor, writer Marvel Comics, The Truth podcast, Co-creator BEHEMOTH

Carol Van Den Hende has written a wonderful, heartbreaking yet heartwarming novel, perfect for our times. I couldn’t put this book down and was captivated by the main character, CEO Phoenix Walker. I highly recommend reading Goodbye, Orchid, and sharing it with everyone you know.

—Michele Kessler, Chief Executive Officer at REBBL Inc.

A human drama that traverses every emotion, Goodbye, Orchid reminded me how life can change in a second. It’s a beautifully written tale about the power of true love to overcome deep-seated misbeliefs. Phoenix and Orchid’s story will forever live in my heart. Highly recommend!

—Gordana Gehlhausen, Project Runway couture designer

The characters leapt off the page and into my heart.

—TOBIE KRAMER, Licensed Clinical Social Worker and therapist

GOODBYE, ORCHID takes readers on an emotional roller-coaster ride, through this serious romance, layered with trauma and lost love.

– SUSAN CUSHMAN, author of Friends of the Library, and Cherry Bomb

This novel will take you into a world of love and redemption like no other…be prepared for that breath of awe when you read the final word.

– SHIRLEY HAILSTOCK, Publisher’s Weekly best-selling author

This beautiful story shows the impact on those transformed as a result of tragedy, and the resulting hope that follows. Love heals.

– BARBARA MCNALLY, licensed physical therapist, author of Wounded Warrior: Wounded Wife and Four Faces of Femininity, Huffington Post contributor

As a combat decorated and wounded veteran, I was truly captivated by Carol’s storytelling. Phoenix Walker captures the mindset, roller-coaster and daily heroics of my experience after being injured. All around excellence.

– Doc Jacobs, Bronze Star with Valor and Purple Heart-decorated Navy Corpsman, CEO Doc Jacobs Foundation, author There and Back Again

In this most worthy novel, the protagonists’ lives are shattered and they re-emerge champions, showing a true test of character. Phoenix is all of us, unconquerable until we’re conquered. A tale of sacrifice and rebirth; heroism is in the details.

– SSGT Aaron Michael Grant, author of TAKING BAGHDAD: Victory in Iraq With the US Marines

Goodbye, Orchid is a story of love, adversity, family and sacrifice. This amazing book explores how we see ourselves versus the bias of others. I loved it five stars high!

– Nadine Vogel, CEO Springboard Global Enterprises, disability advocate, author Dive In

“Goodbye Orchid” is a heart-felt, dramatic…page-turner [that] will keep readers on the edge of their seats. Phoenix is…truly a likable hero. When he falls from grace, its truly a heart-breaking experience… Orchid’s character is kind, caring and determined. There are many lessons in this book; one that stands out is not prejudging others and always allowing them the opportunity to show their true colors. It’s hard to fathom this is a debut novel, “Goodbye Orchid” has captured all the emotions, and readers will not be disappointed!

– InD’tale Magazine, FIVE out of five stars

An inspiring and explosive novel showing how two people confront the misperceptions in their lives.

– LARRY KIRSHBAUM, literary agent and publishing advisor

Bambi's Book Blog

“emotional passages that took my heart and tore it to pieces…a masterpiece in human resilience. It’s not easy, pretty or quick. Sometimes deep and dark. I couldn’t tear myself away from the pages. This was more than a casual read, this was an experience. One that touched me so deeply and even personally. Each character written with purpose and depth. This is an extraordinary novel! One of the best I’ve read this year. It’s so worth much more than five stars!” Full review here

Wild Sage Book Blog

“Goodbye, Orchid most certainly captured my heart. Whether scarred emotionally or physically, Ms. Van Den Hende’s characters are richly unique and portrayed as real, fractured yet relatable, as they strive to become whole again and on to the realization that ‘we are enough’.I highly recommend to anyone looking for a meaningful story as to how the human spirit can truly inspire” Full review here

Audiobook Reviewer

“An Emotional Love Story! Van Den Hende builds her characters with depth and emotional vulnerability. Her descriptions are vividly rich and the dialog is realistic and smooth, moving the story along at a steady pace. Carol Van Den Hende narrates the story beautifully; her narration is flawless and smooth…she mastered it drawing the listener in and keeping them engaged with the characters and the storyline. ” Full review here

A portion of Goodbye, Orchid‘s profits is being donated to charities. USA Cares and The Heather Abbott Foundation have already benefitted. Goodbye, Orchid is partnering with Beloved Bath to do more good. 
Visit BelovedBath.com for a beautiful giftset containing: autographed Goodbye, Orchid and hand-poured Lavender Blossom candle (50+ hour burn time, more than enough to finish reading this “heartwarming page-turner”). A portion of proceeds will support people with autism, and military families.

Sign up for book or speaking news from Carol!

Author and speaking news right to your inbox